Our school is supported by its own board of Governors which under the terms of the 1998 Education Act is responsible for the curriculum and welfare of pupils, the school’s budget, staff appointments and the care of the buildings.


Structure of our Governing Body

There are two full Governing Body meetings each term at which issues are discussed and decisions made. The Governing Body is then split into two sub-committees; a Resources Committee  and a Curriculum and Standards Committee, both chaired by Claire Ellis-Banks. Each committee meets at least once a term and recommendations are reported back to the Governing Body.


Our Governing Body consists of:


  • Headteacher
  • Two parent Governors (appointed by parents)
  • One Local Authority Governor (appointed by the Local Authority)
  • One staff Governor (appointed by the school staff)
  • Four co-opted Governors (appointed by the Full Governing Body)


Chair of Governors

Claire Banks. Can be contacted through the school office.



Julie Jenkinson. Remains on the Governing Body as Headteacher.


Parent Governors

Ruth Veal - term of office 16th November 2015 to 15th November 2019

Nicholas Pratap - term of office 10th May 2017 to 9th May 2021


Local Authority Governor

Angela Scott – term of office 16th September 2016 to 15th September 2020


Staff Governor

Sarah Hoggart – term of office 24th September 2016 to 23rd September 2020


Co-opted Governors

Angela Bardell – term of office 15th September 2014 to 14th September 2018

Gloria Hunter – term of office 15th September 2014 to 14th September 2018

Claire Bailey - term of office 1st February 2016 to 31st January 2020

Claire Banks - term of office 23rd September 2015 to 22nd September 2019


Governors who have resigned during the 2016-2017 academic year

Andrew Strelczenie - term of office ended on 28th April 2017


Governing Body Full Board Attendance 2016-2017

 Autumn Term Meeting 26th September 2016 –  All present except Andrew Strelczenie and Ruth Veal (apologies) 

 Inspection Copy Agenda 26.09.16 pdf    Inspection Copy Minutes 26.09.16 pdf

Autumn Term Meeting 21st November 2016 - All present except Angela Scott and Claire Bailey (apologies)

 Inspection Copy Agenda 21.11.16 pdf    Inspection Copy Minutes 21.11.16 pdf

Spring Term Meeting 13th February 2017 - All present except Angela Scott and Claire Banks (apologies and Andrew Strelczenie 

Inspection Copy Agenda 13.02.17.pdf  Inspection Copy Minutes 13.02.17 

 Spring Term Meeting 27th March 2017


 Summer Term Meeting 22nd May 2017

Inspection Copy Agenda 22.05.17.pdf   Inspection Copy Minutes 22.05.17.pdf

 Summer Term Meeting 26th June 2017

Inspection Copy Agenda 26.06.17.pdf


Register of Interests

From 1st September 2015, Governing Bodies of maintained schools have a duty to publish their register of interests. This register is required to include the following details:


Any business and pecuniary interests (as recorded in the register of interests) including:

  • Governance roles in other educational establishments
  • Any material interests arising from the relationships between Governors and school staff (including spouses, partners and close relatives)


Please see below details of any interests declared by our current Governing Body for the 2017/2018 academic year.


Name of Governor

Interest Declared

Julie Jenkinson

Husband owns own business and sub-contracts to DMBC

Angela Scott

Governor at The Hayfield School

Claire Banks


Angela Bardell


Sarah Hoggart


Gloria Hunter


Claire Bailey

 Principal at Sheffield Park Academy

Ruth Veal

 Staff member at Edenthorpe Hall Academy

   Nicholas Pratap                                                        Company Director at Brewster Pratap Recruitment



Page Hits: 02724